Keep Your Friends Close and Your Notebook Even Closer

If you’re going to write, then write.

No, that’s not right, scratch that. Start with this:

If you’re going to write, then better have a place to put that writing in.

Much better!

So what is the point? I first thought of this post over morning coffee, no particular day this week.

No laptop… No smartphone to hunt-and-peck a posting full of  typos and incoherence… No, oh, let’s be honest: I had something better to do than write a blog post at just the same moment the very idea occurred to me, so how did this posting ever come to be?

I had a notebook… a small notebook and a nubby little pencil that sits in the bottom of my daypack, minding its own business until I need it. I jotted down my idea in 50 words or less, then went back to the thing I really wanted to do.

If there is yet another thing I keep teaching myself over and over is taking a notebook everywhere is my habit, not my hobby. The over all goal is to write a lot more than in the past; that won’t happen unless I provide myself with something to write in! For years upon years I did myself no service by promising myself “I’ll remember it later“… I didn’t. Nobody does. A prize-winning idea or two is lost in the ether every week when relying on memory alone.

About rocjoe

Once a full-time software developer. Chances are if you've paid for a beer or a sandwich on any major airline in the past 5 years, code I wrote has reached you. I shifted to part-time software developing about a year ago, as a step towards a better quality of life. I still code but the 20-hour work days are a thing of the past. Lately I amuse myself by pretending I am a witty and insightful blogger. All three of those things ("witty", "insightful" and "blogger") are totally false. My promise to you: nowhere in this blog will you see source-code or technical speak. This is purely a blog for personal fun and discovery. View all posts by rocjoe

Comments are disabled.

