Combine Tuna and Olive Oil for a Healthy Snack

I’m a snacker… a nibbler… a sampler of foods. This is not a good trait, snacking on commercial snack foods leads to eating a lot of unnecessary calories, preservatives and salt.

Last year I decided to put a stop to eating food that isn’t nourishing or make me a healthier person. I may not have a perfect record but my weight is way down and I really enjoy eating my snacks far better than anything I get ready-to-eat from the grocery store. Really I mean it: eating any of my favorite snacks actually tastes so good to me I feel happier!

Even if my snacks don’t appeal much to you, try to build your own snack, using these criteria:

  1. Is there at least one high-quality ingredient in the snack (e.g. olive oil is my “high-quality ingredient” in this recipe)?
  2. Before you taste it, does it smell really good?
  3. Are the ingredients easy to get and keep in the kitchen?

Here is the first of several snack ideas to share with you. Preparation time is minimal, it will take you longer to read this blog than to actually make it!

Tuna, olive oil and Tabasco

My Dad was Portuguese, if there is one thing you learn from Portuguese cooking it is this: olive oil and fish were made for each other. Olive oil makes even average fish taste really good! If you don’t know from olive oil, be sure to get the “extra virgin” kind as it has the nicest flavor.

The recipe:

  1. Open 1 can of tuna, drain oil/water and empty into a bowl
  2. Splash on some Tabasco to suit your taste
  3. Pour 1 tablespoon (20ml) of extra-virgin olive oil
  4. Add fresh ground pepper
  5. Inhale the aroma!
  6. Mix together with a fork

Those used to tuna-and-mayonnaise my find this on the “dry” side. Try adding some fresh diced sweet pepper or cucumber to the mix to moisten the concoction.

Enjoy!

What are your favorite snack recipes?

About rocjoe

Once a full-time software developer. Chances are if you've paid for a beer or a sandwich on any major airline in the past 5 years, code I wrote has reached you. I shifted to part-time software developing about a year ago, as a step towards a better quality of life. I still code but the 20-hour work days are a thing of the past. Lately I amuse myself by pretending I am a witty and insightful blogger. All three of those things ("witty", "insightful" and "blogger") are totally false. My promise to you: nowhere in this blog will you see source-code or technical speak. This is purely a blog for personal fun and discovery. View all posts by rocjoe

Comments are disabled.

